top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllison Kirby

Critical Reflection: Question 1

1. How does your product use or challenge conventions and how does it represent social groups or issues?

In my mind, magazines have not changed in forever. The same magazines I used to see near the cashier at stores when I was younger, are the same ones I still see in the same spots today. The only difference is that with increasing technology and more people preferring digital over printed, some magazines have begun to be available online as well. That being said, no matter how my product is put out (online or printed), it does not go against that the conventions of a normal magazine. What I would consider challenging conventions is the content of my product. Women's sports and fitness are not talked about as often as men's fitness or women's fashion. Other than that, I will be following all the tradition conventions of magazines.

My product represents the women who want to get into fitness. When going to a gym, you would see mostly men, this often scares women from going and leaves them fewer places to work out (outdoors or at home). Lifting weights also scares women because they think they will end up looking too manly. My product will show them that it will not do that and will teach them that becoming fit will not only make them look great but also feel great. Fitness is also about eating healthy and eating enough. My product also aims to discuss issues in Women's sports such as wage differences between men and women, and give ore representation to women in sports and fitness.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Image citations

Cover image: I took Small image on cover: https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/tennis/2019/07/18/coco-gauff-wimbledon-phenom-eligible-compete-citi-open/1773812001/ Table of contents meal image: https

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page